Georgian Academy of Medical Science



Brief History of the Academy:
The academy was founded in 1994. The academy is non-government organization and its members are elected by private election. The Academy consist of 50 member which are leaders in their specialty and all of them work in University as full proffesors. In the academy there is department of ecology, fundamental medicine, therapy and surgery.  The academy has a president who is elected by private selection. Vice President, general secretary, chairs of departments, who make the presidium. Academy publishes periodical magazines, conducts scientific sessions, also by dint of academy every year there are international conferences and symposiums in which participate leading  scientists in medicine in other country (USA, Russia, Japan, Germany, Egypt, Israel  and other)

Mission  Statement:
The purpose of academy is to support development of medical science in Georgia, to support preparation of medical doctors and professors.  Also the academy tries to maintain  to establish other countries achievements in medical service in Georgia . Also the academy make popularization scientific achievements of doctors in medical science in other countries.  It represents consultating-advisory organ in state services in order to develop medical service in Georgia.  The academy tries to have tight contacts with medical centers of other countries and clinics in USA, Russia, Germany, Belgium, Italy, Japan, Egypt, Israel and other. 
Current President : Ramaz Khetsuriani, the head of department of Human Normal Anatomy of Tbilisi State Medical University, full professor.  
Contact person: Zurab Kheladze , the head of department of Critical Care Medicine of Tbilisi State Medical University, Director of Critical Care Medicine Institute, full professor. 
IAMP Contact: 
Zurab Kheladze, General Secretary
Email Address: 
251 216751 , 251 216751